Cilantro Garlic Lime Marinade

I was rummaging around in my fridge for ideas for our dinner tonight. What’s on the menu? Chicken! We eat a lot of chicken around here — it’s the main non-veg item we cook. Wanting some zing, I decided to whip up a marinade of fresh cilantro, garlic and lime. Technically, I basted the chicken (kabobs) after they had cooked a little in the oven. Ideally, I’d like to have marinated the chicken the night before, but, alas, I didn’t really plan ahead with this meal (like most other meals I prepare).

This is a great, quick way to add flavour to your meat or poultry. If you’re not a fan of cilantro, however, this isn’t for you.

IMG_0650

Ingredients

  • cilantro (as much as you like, really)
  • garlic (again, how much do you love garlic?)
  • lime juice (at least the juice of a full lime, more if you like)
  • salt (adjust for taste)
  • fresh cracked black pepper (as much or as little as you like)
  • water (depending on how runny you want your marinade)
  • olive oil (it all depends on how much of the above you’re using)

Directions

  • combine all ingredients and blend
  • coat meat/poultry and let marinate (ideally, the day before you cook)

Directions With Banter and Photos

As you can see, this is a “just eyeball it” sort of recipe. This makes it an easy recipe! There is no need to measure anything out.

I happen to absolutely adore cilantro. Not everyone feels the same. So, you’ll have to adjust the amount depending on preference. I like to coat my chicken in the cilantro marinade, so I use a lot. If you’re looking for a more subtle flavour, use less.

As you can see, I took the cilantro for a little walk outside.

As you can see, I took the cilantro for a little walk outside.

In a blender, combine the cilantro with the lime juice, garlic and the rest of the ingredients.

Speaking of lime, check these babies out!

Speaking of lime, check these babies out!

My super awesome dad got these for my mom, during one of his grocery trips. She, in turn, shared some with me. I think they’re Persian Limes. Or maybe they’re key limes? For someone who loves limes, I’m not well-versed on the many kinds that exist. Whatever they are, they are amazing! Though smaller than the regular lime you find at most grocery stores, these guys are juicy and tart. Love them!

I also LOVE garlic. Like, I can’t have enough garlic in my dishes.

IMG_0637All that’s left to do is blend the ingredients. You can see there are small garlic chunks that haven’t been pureed away. This is how I chose to make it this time. You can blend till it’s all completely pureed.

IMG_0639

As I mentioned, I didn’t marinate my chicken. I slathered the chicken after it had begun cooking a little (don’t ask me why I did this). Actually, it was because this whole cilantro idea was very last minute (I initially planned to make an avacado sauce to go with it, but scrapped the idea when I realized the avacados were past their prime).

IMG_0647Once it was cooked, I added a splash of fresh lime juice to the chicken.

IMG_0649And there you have it!

Leave a Reply

