Shaving Cream Paint

IMG_8090

Shaving cream paint?

After being introduced to it by Anna, over at The Imagination Tree, I couldn’t wait to try it out with my Peach. Like most toddlers, Peach is an avid painter.  She is instantly drawn to all things colourful.  This was a super cheap way to keep her busy and let her indulge in some colourful sensory play.

Materials used:

  • can of shaving cream (I purchased a cheap can from the dollar store for this purpose, though I soon realized that I could’ve just used what we had since I didn’t need much)
  • food colouring
  • paintbrushes
  • a long stick to mix in the colour (or you can use a paintbrush)
  • paper cups

IMG_8079

Before we started, I asked Peach to pick five colours from our food colouring set.  This, of course, piqued her interest and she couldn’t wait to get started.

I used IKEA’s STUGVIK basket to hold the paints.  Tiled bathroom walls are a great canvass for this sort of activity.  I found that everything washed off easily.  If you’re going to try this out, you can always test it out on a small spot.

IMG_8097

Peach had an absolute ball.  I would periodically check in on her and she’d be busy painting away (she even went on to smear colourful blobs on her plastic T-Rex, whom she requested be brought to her, along with his other dino pals).

I suspect this would be a great outdoor activity in the summer.  I’d love to know if you’ve tried this or something similar with your little one.  Comment below to share!

Leave a Reply

